Best Liquid Vitamins

                                      Juice your way to health each day!

 
Nutrition Center Weight Loss Center Feature Articles Resources Subscribe Home
<< Previous    1  2  3  4  [5]    Next >>

What is hidden lactose?

Although milk and foods made from milk are the only natural sources of lactose, it is often added to prepared foods. People with very low tolerance for lactose should know about the many food products that may contain even small amounts of lactose, such as

  • bread and other baked goods
  • processed breakfast cereals
  • instant potatoes, soups, and breakfast drinks
  • margarine
  • lunch meats (other than kosher)
  • salad dressings
  • candies and other snacks
  • mixes for pancakes, biscuits, and cookies
  • powdered meal-replacement supplements

Some products labeled non-dairy, such as powdered coffee creamer and whipped toppings, may actually include ingredients that are derived from milk and therefore contain lactose.

Learn to read food labels with care, looking not only for milk and lactose, but also for words such as whey, curds, milk by-products, dry milk solids, and non-fat dry milk powder. If any of these words are listed on a label, the product contains lactose.

Lactose is also used in more than 20 percent of prescription drugs and about 6 percent of over-the-counter medicines. Many types of birth control pills contain lactose, as do some tablets for stomach acid and gas. However, these products typically affect only people with severe lactose intolerance.

Where can I get more information about lactose intolerance?

Additional Sources/Resources for Lactose Intolerance:

More information available from the following:

National Digestive Diseases Information Clearinghouse
2 Information Way
Bethesda, MD 20892–3570
Phone: 1–800–891–5389
TTY: 1–866–569–1162
Fax: 703–738–4929
Internet: www.digestive.niddk.nih.gov

<< Previous    1  2  3  4  [5]    Next >>